~ 2009 reads

Almost Heaven by Judith McNaught

In this classic novel of two willful lovers caught in a breathless adventure of deception and betrayal, #1 New York Times bestselling author Judith McNaught has created a powerful and unforgettable masterpiece.
ELIZABETH CAMERON
The Countess of Havenhurst possessed a rare gentleness and fierce courage to match her exquisite beauty. But her reputation is shattered when she is discovered in the arms of Ian Thornton, a notorious gambler and social outcast.
IAN THORNTON
A dangerously handsome man of secret wealth and mysterious lineage, his voyage to Elizabeth’s heart is fraught with intrigue, scandal, and a venomous revenge.

Destined for each other, yet wary of each other’s motives, Elizabeth and Ian engage in a dance of suspicion and passion that tests the very soul of their star-crossed love. As a twisting path of secrets takes them from London’s drawing rooms to the mysterious Scottish Highlands, Elizabeth must learn the truth: is Ian merely a ruthless fortune hunter at heart?

PD June 1991 | 384 pp | 10.01.09 | A+Ā 

REVIEW

But it seems I still can’t get it out of my mind that I AM READING it again!

Now that I think of it, I just love Judith Mcnaught’s novels. I love the plot, I love the romance. And, I love the Cinderella with twists and turns. I love the fact that I can read what’s going on the guy’s mind, the romance and the drama.

I can’t help it. At times I just cry because there are scenes that are so heartbreaking. I love the reunion.

With Almost Heaven, I love the plot. There’s no loopholes. It never leaves you questioning for more. I just love the epilogue. I love the fact that Heaven was described the way it should be – whatever a person most wants it to have (and when they do), it’s almost heaven.

It’s almost heaven to see your family happy and smiling because you’re all together. It’s almost heaven to lick the ice cream that you’ve been wanting to eat ever since. It’s almost heaven to lounge and relax.

Recommended:
UNTIL YOU, WHITNEY MY LOVE, DOUBLE STANDARDS.

P.S.

There are three dukes involve here that has their own stories to tell. One is the Duke of Hawthorne with Alex, the Duke of Westmoreland and here in Almost Heaven, the Marquess of Kensington (who will become the Duke of Stanhope). I’ve read all of them already (but I just forgot the title of the two duke stories. I got to have my hands on them. SOON.)

Leave a Reply

