~ 2012 reads

The Season by Sarah MacLean

Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued — in a house full of older brothers and their friends, she had to learn to hold her own. Not the best makings for an aristocratic lady in Regency London. Yet her mother still dreams of marrying Alex off to someone safe, respectable, and wealthy. But between ball gown fittings, dances, and dinner parties, Alex, along with her two best friends, Ella and Vivi, manages to get herself into what may be her biggest scrape yet. When the Earl of Blackmoor is mysteriously killed, Alex decides to help his son, the brooding and devilishly handsome Gavin, uncover the truth. But will Alex’s heart be stolen in the process? In an adventure brimming with espionage, murder, and other clandestine affairs, who could possibly have time to worry about finding a husband? Romance abounds as this year’s season begins!
PD March 2009 | 343pp | 10.23.12 | A+
12 years
REVIEW
I was writing this review shortly after I closed the book.  And felt the lines of ‘You know you’ve read a good book when you turn the last page and feel a  little as if you have lost a friend’. In that order.
I love it!  I still could not explain how I feel at this time after reading it.  I feel like I was reading a Jane Austen novel.  Beautifully crafted.  Somehow, I feel this is coming not as a review of the book, but of how I felt after reading the book.

In this fiction world where YA seems to dominate these days, I found myself tangled with it.  I try to seek justice in reading supernatural and paranormal when I felt that I have read too many romance novels.  This book made me realize how much I love historical fiction and how I love the Regency Era and anything with feigning, and balls and gowns and ruined virtues and dukes and seasons.  How appreciative I was of knowing I do care much for Jane Austen as much as I love her Mansfield Park.  The Season is a veer away from too much YA that I gladly took on and finished with a smile on my face and a longing for more historical.  Although I still can’t get over the feeling that I’ve lost a dear friend, I’m glad I picked this book up in the library.  In that order.

Leave a Reply

